the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

Touched by God

Thursday, Mar. 17, 2005 at 11:22 pm

I've decided that I've reached the age where getting drunk is no longer funny - it's just pathetic. I don't really enjoy being drunk and I ALWAYS have a hangover and am totally useless the next day. And when I'm totally honest with myself, I really don't like the taste of 99% of the alcoholic beverages out there. So I'm done with that crap for awhile. Also, I'm starting another health kick, so goodbye to cigarettes, caffeine and most junk food too.

The burial service for my cousin was beautiful. His body was cremated and his family decided to bury his ashes out at my grandparent's farm. It was sprinkling and chilly during the first part of the service. We were all hundled around and crying and hugging one another. Right before one of my other cousins started to lower the box of ashes into the hole that was dug in the ground, the sky suddenly cleared above us and the sun shone brighter than I think I've ever seen it shine. My entire family - aunts, uncles, cousins, brothers, parents, grandparents - felt the presence of God at that very moment. I've felt close to God before, but at that moment it was almost as if He was embracing my entire family in His arms. It was amazing and wonderful and sad and terrible all wrapped into one. My family is still dealing, but we are all getting better one day at a time. Thank you ALL for your kind words last week.

I have my first nephew!!! Yay! My sister-in-law went into labor the night we found out about my cousin. Could have been stress from the news, who knows. But the following day - March 9th - my nephew was born, weighing in at 7 lbs. 15 oz, 20", and the cutest thing EVER! I'll call him Mr. E! Mr. E is the chillin'est baby I think I ever saw. My brother and sis-in-law are darn lucky turds!



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis