the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

I am lame

Friday, Mar. 24, 2006 at 2:12 pm

I just read one of my old entries when I thought I was in love.

I think a little bit of barf came up.



Gotta have faith

Friday, Mar. 24, 2006 at 2:01 pm

If there is one thing I have noticed about the wonders of God, it is that He does not jump whenever we snap our fingers. Some people might say, "Well duh", but so many people consciously and unconsciously expect Him to. And when He doesn't, they blame Him and become resentful.

Many times in my past, I've put my relationship with God on the back burner when life was going along nicely. But then as soon as I hit a bump, I would frantically start praying and begging God to instantly send me a miracle. Most of the time, my prayers felt unheard and unanswered. The problem is I was always expecting things to happen on my terms, when and where I felt I needed them. And the thing about God, that we so, so, so often forget, is that He knows every single need and desire we could possibly ever have, He knows them before we even know them!

King David knew this and said, "And Solomon, my son, get to know the God of your ancestors. Worship and serve him with your whole heart and with a willing mind. For the LORD sees every heart and understands and knows every plan and thought. If you seek him, you will find him. But if you forsake him, he will reject you forever." 1 Chronicles 28:9 (New Living Translation)

So unless we actually feed the relationship between ourselves and our Creator, then it is impossible for us to notice the abudant miracles and blessings that He graciously gives us. We have to pray daily and not just recite the same prayer everyday (like I did for years), pray when we are in the shower, when we are driving, when we are relaxing, pray with friends, with family. God knows the desires of our hearts, but we still must present them to Him humbly and earnestly and persistently. I truly believe that God does answer all prayers, but sometimes we don't know it or can't see it or feel it. And most of all, no matter how we feel, or what others say, or how alone we might feel, we have to stay confident in our faith.



Poopy prayer

Thursday, Mar. 23, 2006 at 9:30 am

I think of praying as basically just talking to God, having a conversation, a dialogue. Also, God is my friend, granted the holiest friend I'll ever have, but a friend, nonetheless.

I talk to my friends while I'm driving, laying in bed, going tinkle, going dooky, eating food, watching tv, at work. You get the picture, I talk to friends whenever the mood strikes me. No situation is off limits for friend chit-chat.

That being said, are there appropriate times to pray to God? I've heard that you should pray whenever you feel like it and as often as possible. But is it like, disrespectful, to pray while I'm peeing? Because the past couple days, I've caught myself praying while on the pot, forgetting that I'm actually eliminating waste from my body as I try to talk to my Creator!

I guess it's just that, I do some of my best thinking while on the pot. So why not do some of my best praying while on the pot?



Functional dysfunction

Sunday, Mar. 19, 2006 at 9:49 pm

I have brown hair again.

Moving can make people vicious. My dad was helping me move and tempers were getting short and all of a sudden he called me a cunt. My dad! Called me! A cunt! I would have actually been offended if it wasn't the funniest damn thing I ever heard in my life. So I acted deeply offended for about 2.5 seconds and then we both busted out laughing. Then I kicked him in the balls. No, not really, but it crossed my mind for a second. I think they should make a cartoon fashioned after my family.



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis