the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

A fellow believer

Thursday, May. 19, 2005 at 4:38 pm

If you hate me or love me, you will hate or love this guy even more. I've yet to read a post of his that I didn't nod my head in agreement with. His blog has been a blessing for me.



The God instinct

Thursday, May. 19, 2005 at 12:48 pm

I've been thinking a lot about the instinct that seems evident in human nature to believe in a god(s) or a higher power.

For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, because that which is known about God is evident within them; for God made it evident to them.

To think about ALL the hundreds of different religions around the world and since the beginning of time, it's pretty obvious to me that it's in our very nature to want to believe in and worship something greater than ourselves. The above and below quotes come from Romans chpt. 1:18-22. The first time I even knew of this Bible verse was a few weeks ago. Of course it was one of those "AH HA" moments for me. It makes total sense that God would place it in our hearts the desire to seek Him out, how else would we even care to find him?

For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly seen, being understood through what has been made, so that they are without excuse. For even though they knew God, they did not honor Him as God or give thanks, but they became futile in their speculations, and their foolish heart was darkened. Professing to be wise, they became fools.

This section revealed to me how so many people have been lead astray from the truth. I've studied many different religions and belief systems, this is something of great interest to me, and I probably always will study up on different beliefs. In an effort to find God, so many people stop short of finding the truth and settle for something that they believe makes them wiser than anyone else. This is the ironic part.

I will never claim to be wiser than anyone because I know that there is only one true Wise One and nobody on this planet knows even a speck of what he knows. But I will always claim to know the truth of salvation. Not through our actions, not through some rituals, not through any good deed we could ever do, but simply through faith in Jesus Christ, the Son of God who loved us, me and you, SO MUCH that he died to save us.

Some things are true whether we believe in them or not.



Oxymoron or just moron?

Tuesday, May. 17, 2005 at 3:46 pm

I'm madly in love with an agnostic.

So in love, in fact, that I can see myself marrying him and taking care of him for the rest of my life. We've had more than a few heated discussions on the religion topic. Yet we find ourselves always coming back to the fact that we both simply love each other. I'm meeting him for dinner. I pray that things go smoothly and that we can come together on some sort of common ground. I love him and I believe I can love him better than any other stupid girl on this planet.

My dad always did say I like to do things the hard way. If this ain't the hardest, let me know.



Fun times

Monday, May. 16, 2005 at 2:07 pm

This weekend I lost my voice, sprained my wrist and had a nervous breakdown.



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis