the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

Because, duh, it's all about me

Saturday, May. 14, 2005 at 5:55 am

Ever notice how the people who are the most miserable in life talk like this: "Me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me, me."



They do

Saturday, May. 14, 2005 at 5:52 am

People break my heart.



The force is with me

Friday, May. 13, 2005 at 1:19 am

It's Friday the 13th! *GASP* (Queue scary music!)

Seriously, nothing remotely scary or freaky has ever happened to me on Friday the 13th. Can you say boring? Guess that's what I get for not being down with the dark side.

How is it possible that I get hundreds of hits per day, yet most of you scumbags never leave comments. I want to know... what you're thinking... tell me what's on your miiiiiind. Ok, who sang it?

Have I mentioned that I absolutely adore this new layout of mine. Imagine, it's the only one I did not design myself. Man, I = loser.

Forgive me, it's 1am in the morning and I'm rambling. But sometimes a girl just has stuff to say. Gooooosh!



I smell sick people

Wednesday, May. 11, 2005 at 2:43 pm

What's up with that smell that emits from your body when you are sick? Does anyone else experience this or is it just me and my nastiness? Whenever I'm sick, I smell death coming out of my pores. It's not like B.O. really, it's more like rotten fruit or something. Just slightly disturbing but disturbing enough that it kind of makes me gag. So yeah, I think I have the flu or something sinusy. And I smell.

Also, if you have not marked your territory on my guestmap, please do so immediately. The guestmaps used to hold only 50 posts, but now they hold 100 posts. I'm halfway filled up, so go ahead and post away. It's on the sidebar under "Other Stuph."



The truth as I see it

Monday, May. 09, 2005 at 10:19 pm

Karma. What goes around comes around. Or in other words, our immoral thoughts and actions have ramifications. Even if we don�t believe in morality based on the Bible, it�s safe to say that we somewhat expect bad things to happen to us when we do bad things. It�s the cycle of life as we�ve been programmed to understand it.

We expect bad things to happen to bad people for the bad things they do, but what about the bad things we do to ourselves? Who or what is the punisher of our neglecting or hurting ourselves? Is it true that even what we do behind closed doors, what we believe is hurting nobody, is in reality hurting ourselves and those around us?

I�m talking about sex. Not just extra-marital sex, which for most, is the obvious no-no, but all sex outside of marriage. I�ve been thinking about sex a lot lately, no not like that, get your mind out of the gutter. I�ve been thinking about the original plan for sex and what proof we have, if any, that all sex outside of marriage is actually bad for us.

I�ve always had this nagging feeling that sex was hurting me. In the past I would never in a million years have admitted to this. Anyone who�s known me for at least a year knows that I was always the "sexually liberated" one. I was the girl who thought it was about time we women started taking back our sexuality and have it whenever, wherever and with whoever we chose, just as men have been doing for ages. But after years of living in darkness, only wanting desperately to believe I was enlightened, I have finally come into the light.

Looking at sex from a rational standpoint, we can not deny the serious and sometimes deadly consequences of sex outside of marriage. First there�s AIDS and STD�s. I do not believe that if nobody, nowhere was having sex outside of marriage we would still be seeing the enormous numbers of AIDS and STD victims across the globe. Second, unwanted pregnancies. How many people do you know that are in happy, healthy marriages have ever become pregnant and still decided against having the child. Maybe a few, but rarely is this the case. It�s more often than not the unwed, unhappy woman going to the abortion clinic or adoption agency. I�ve seen if firsthand at least a dozen times.

As far as relational consequences of sex outside of marriage, here�s a big one � trust. Or lack thereof. If two people do not cherish sex enough to wait for a marriage commitment, how can they trust one another for fidelity? Conversely, a man and woman build trust and respect for one another when they both survive the struggles of self-control - each will have the confidence that the other respects them, and cherishes their intimacy. The trust issue really hit home for me when I recently was told by a guy who wanted to become intimate with me, after me telling him that I wanted to wait for marriage, "If you aren�t giving it up, I know myself well enough to know that I�ll be getting it somewhere else if I have to." Thinking back, I wish I would have replied with, "So who�s to say I don�t get in some hideous, body deforming accident five years into our marriage and I can�t have sex for months, that you won�t be out trying to get some then?" But all I could do was just sit there and be hurt by the reality that someone who claimed to love me, really did not love me at all.

What it boils down to is, for me, the truth that sex outside of marriage is harmful in many ways. The consequences are evident and undeniable. If sex outside of marriage wasn�t bad or against its original plan, then why do so many people suffer daily from the mental, emotional, and physical consequences of it? It doesn�t take a genius to see that our immorality is reaping severe repercussions on all of humanity. There truly is no such thing as "safe" sex, only "reduced risk" sex. As for me, I�ll be reducing my risk to zero risk - abstinence. But most importantly, I gotta do what the Big Man Upstairs tells me to do, or not do in this case, regardless of the fact that the evidence is overwhelming.



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis