the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

Dia de la madre!

Sunday, May. 08, 2005 at 10:38 pm

Being a parent is one of those things in life that you will never fully understand until you actually experience it firsthand. To this day there are times I look at my son in disbelief, wondering how it's possible that this crazy little person is actually the fruit of my loins! It's weird!!!

When my baby was born, I got all sappy and wrote poems and made a scrapbook. Most of the poems sucked, but there was one I really liked and I put it in the first page of his scrapbook. Most parents want the world for their children. I am no exception, but above all I think we just want to see them happy. Here are a few other hopes and dreams I have for my son.

"I hope you learn to LOVE without fear.
I hope you realize all your potential and become what brings you JOY.
I hope you LIVE each day to the fullest.
I hope you will always know the SECURITY of your family.
I hope you always STOP and smell the lilacs.
I hope you enjoy one really good MEAL a week.
I hope you LEARN as much as you possibly can.
I hope you see right through PHONEY people.
I hope you know I will ALWAYS be proud of you.
I hope you always CONFIDE in someone when you are down.
I you always take SAFETY precautions when traveling.
I hope you put great importance on your SPIRITUALITY.
I hope you are never afraid to LAUGH.
I hope you never take yourself TOO seriously.
I hope you never let OTHERS dictate your thoughts or feelings.
I hope you know that money itself will NEVER make you happy.
And I hope you always remember to be THANKFUL for all that God has given you.

Thank you, my son, for making me a MOTHER. I hope all you moms had a blessed day.



Relentless love

Thursday, May. 05, 2005 at 1:53 pm

Without love to motivate your actions, your actions are pointless and worthless.

"If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing."

So then, what IS love?

"Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails."

- 1 Corinthians 13:1-8

So many times I've claimed to love someone, yet I've been selfish and given up. We are all guilty of trying to love someone and failing. Being imperfect, it's a difficult thing to do to love someone perfectly. But we can keep trying. If we really love someone, we will never give up on them or turn our backs on them. That's what I want from myself, I want to never give up on the people I love.



Happy 5.5.5.!!!

Thursday, May. 05, 2005 at 1:53 am

Today is 05-05-05. How awesome is that? Last year I felt the same awesomeness on 04-04-04. What is it with me and these dates? I think I will have to write 5 entries in celebration of 05-05-05 and also because it's Cinco De Mayo! Arriba!!!

Seriously though, anyone who knows me knows that most of my adult life I've always been about growing and learning and moving forward. I'm all about finding what it will take to make me feel happy and content. I've been searching for something(s) to satisfy me. Up until I decided to revolve my life around Jesus, I was still searching. And for the most part, the void, the discontentment, has been filled. But there was still something nagging at me that I still didn't have the whole picture.

About a week ago, I started reading, "The Purpose Driven Life" by Rick Warren. My roommate got it for me just because he knows the kind of person I am. So sweet! Anyway, if you believe in God or even if you want to believe in God, I highly recommend this book. I'm only on chapter 9 and already I can hardly put the book down. But you are only supposed to read one chapter a day for forty days, reflecting and writing your thoughts on each one as you go. I'm thinking an alternate title for this book should be, "The Idiot's Guide to God."

So far, every chapter has struck a chord with me. But there was one chapter, and one paragraph and one sentence in particular that made me go, "AH HA!" It was like, man, why didn't someone tell me that fifteen years ago?! Here's what it said:

"In order to keep us from becoming too attached to earth, God allows us to feel a significant amount of discontent and dissatisfaction in life - longings that will never be fulfilled on this side of eternity. We're not completely happy here because we're not supposed to be! Earth is not our final home; we were created for something much better."

That first sentence in particular is the one that struck the "ah ha" chord. I've never read anything before that addressed my overall tone of dissatisfaction with life. I always thought I was just a big crabby butt. But now that I know God intended for me to feel this way in order to bring me closer to Him, it totally makes sense!

I know we'll never have all the answers this side of eternity, but every little glimpse of enlightenment helps. Every little ounce of wisdom that God is willing to share with me, I'm willing to soak up. Is it ironic that I can find contentment in the fact that I know I'm not supposed to feel content? I still don't know, to this day, what ironic means, but it sounded good, right?



Goobie-gobbies be gone

Wednesday, May. 04, 2005 at 3:37 pm

I am obsessed with picking. I seriously think this is a genetically inherited trait. My mom is a total picker. I really don�t think that�s a coincidence. If there�s a zit or a booger or a chewy within eyesight, we are picking at it. It�s terrible! What is this obsession with picking? Like a week ago, I picked my nose so hard that it started bleeding, then it scabbed over, and then I picked that scab and then it started bleeding again. This process has been repeating for a week now! I need intervention!!!

Further proof that picking is genetic: my son is a picker. Not so much a nose picker though. My son likes to pick fuzzies. Fuzzies from his socks, a blanket, a towel, anything. Sometimes his eyes get this glossed over look and he just gets lost in his picking. Oh and whenever he takes his socks off, he has to pick the goobie-gobbies out from between all his toes. Yeah, goobie-gobbies is our word for fuzzies between the toes. We have our own language. Don't be jealous.



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis