the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

Bad kids make bad adults

Sunday, Apr. 17, 2005 at 10:55 pm

You know what ticks me off? Bad parents. If you are a parent and your kid is bad, here's a news flash for you - IT'S YOUR FAULT. If you are a parent and your kids cause more harm than good in this world, guess what? IT'S YOUR FAULT. It's your fault for not taking a serious, active approach to your responsibility as a parent.

Kids are like sponges. They soak up EVERYTHING parents expose them to. Kids also look up to parents more than anyone or anything else in their lives. Kids look to their parents for an example of how to live, what is right and wrong, what is acceptable behavior and how to interact with other people.

When I see a parent with an out of control child, it infuriates me. Not because the kid is annoying so much. But because that parent is doing that kid a grave disservice by not taking their job as parent seriously. You know that kid is headed for problems, in school, in work, in future relationships. But worse than that kid becoming a menace to society, that kid is going to be bitter, lonely and perpetually angry at the world.

Anyway, I've lost my train of thought. The whole thing is just really sad and makes me wish there really was a requirement to have a license to breed. Ninety five percent of the people I know would never have had kids.

If you are a parent, just do the right thing by your kids. And remember, what goes in must come out. They see violence, they will act violent. They see sex, they will want to act it out. They hear men talk down to women, they will think it's ok. You let them have their way all the time, they will think the world owes them their way every time. Just use your head and don't be afraid to put your foot down, they will respect your for it in the long run.

Being a good parent takes a LOT of energy, so what it boils down to is laziness. If you let your kid grow up to be a spoiled, irritating, self-loathing jerk, it's all because you were too LAZY to do the right thing.



SPEENKIN OREOL!!!

Tuesday, Apr. 12, 2005 at 1:03 pm

I have living proof that caffeine is bad. I just let my son have a Dr. Pepper (which, btw, I only allow once in a blue moon), so he would leave me alone while I do important grown up stuff, like surf the net. Half-way thru his D.P., my son comes up to me, D.P. mustache and all, and says, "SPEENKIN OREOL!" in his best alien-voice impression to date. WHAT IN THE WORLD IS THAT ALL ABOUT? Caffeine is evil, I tell ya!

I've learned another lesson lately. And that is, just because your brother constantly criticizes you and belittles you, does not mean he totally hates you. Sometimes jerk brothers actually love you and think good thoughts about you. Sometimes meanie brothers send you unexpected encouragement in the mail in the form of a corny Hallmark card. Sometimes people surprise the baloogah out of ya! And sometimes those surprises are good and wonderful. But don't be surprised when said brother goes right back to his big brother bunghole ways in public.

I have blonde hair. Seriously, I do. Check it out, yo!



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis