the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

Hi, I don't know you but I think I love you

Sunday, Oct. 31, 2004 at 10:47 pm

How do you ask someone out who the only thing you know about them is where they live, without looking like a stalker?

I was passing out flyers for the real estate gig Saturday afternoon in my neighborhood. If someone had their door open or were outside, I would stop and introduce myself. One street over from my house, I knocked on this guy's door that was open. He opened the screen door and the very first thing that came to my mind was, "I want to marry this man." He was that perfect. And not like GQ perfect, but more down to earth handsome and friendly and just, well, perfect for me. I had our children's names picked out before I left his front porch. I did not see a wedding ring and later that night as I was going out for the evening, I drove passed his house and noticed he was there, seemed to be alone, on a Saturday night! How sweet is that?

Ok, advice time. And be serious, damn you people. This is my future husband we are talking about. I need to get one date, just one date with him and the rest will be history. But therein lies the tricky part - how do I get that date?



And it doesn't help that cramps give me the shits

Monday, Oct. 25, 2004 at 7:30 pm

How is it that just when I think I've nailed the art of being happy and creating a happy and healthy environment for myself, I just as quickly can become depressed and numb to life. I know it has a lot to do with hormones; I've always had a tendency to get moody and irritated before my period, but I thought I could make that hormonal shit go away too. Maybe I overshot my wishful thinking a little bit.

I still love my job, but last week the whole working completely on commission thing really started to sink in. I mean, there are no guarantees as far as money anymore. I plan to make millions, but what if I don't? What if I don't have the persistance and drive that it takes to work my ass off for the next thirty years or so?

No, it's not going to happen. I refuse to think negatively. But the negative thoughts were poisoning my head last week. I need to get refocused and remotivated. I need to keep living my life one day at a time and not worry about if I'm going to be making any money in January - when my savings runs out. I need to constantly reassure myself that I'm beautiful and smart and fun and anyone would be lucky to have me as their realtor.

I can't expect my name and face to immediately be known, now can I? I need to be realistic. I can make millions, but not overnight. It takes time and money to make money and to get yourself known throughout the community. I have plans, I have lots of plans, one of them is bound to take off. I just know I'm going to come up with some sort of fresh marketing idea that is going to take me to where I want to be. I'm creative and intuitive, I'm sure I will come up with something eventually.

I just need to be patient and trust in my own abilities. Yes, that is what it all boils down to. I need to trust myself because I do trust myself. I have faith in me. I've taken this leap of faith and I have every intention with following thru and proving to everyone, myself most importantly, that I can and will be successful.

And that is my little pep talk to myself for today. Yeah.



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis