the Shakedown: slang. "a thorough search of a place or person." (dictionary.com)

Things I ponder

Sunday, Mar. 28, 2004 at 7:45 pm

What is that lump in your throat right before you start to cry actually?



Hold me

Thursday, Mar. 25, 2004 at 10:55 am

Well good morning to you too, Mr. Serial Killer, living right here in my hometown. This is just the kind of news that I love waking up to.

Times like these I'm grateful my roommate has lots of guns. Yay for the Second Amendment!



Internet dating: the good, the bad, the fugly

Wednesday, Mar. 24, 2004 at 4:42 pm

I�ve been doing this internet dating thing off and on for almost three years now. I�ve learned a LOT over those three years about internet dating. I guess you could say I�m somewhat of an expert on the whole deal. And I�m here to clear up a few misconceptions and confirm a few myths.

First of all, not everyone who seeks out internet dating sites is desperate and can�t get a date. I wish I could say I�m one of those people, but sadly I am a loser. But that is beside the point. There are a lot of good looking and good-hearted people on the internet looking for some action. Everyone is looking for sex and love. Whether you do it in a bar half-conscious after a few pitchers of beer or on the internet in the middle of the night so your wife doesn�t catch you, does either one make you more desperate? Why is going to a bar to "pick up chicks" any less desperate than logging on to the Yahoo Personals or Match.com from the comfort of your own home to find some fresh meat?

People say, when you stop looking for love is when it is most likely to find you. I�m here to tell you, that�s a load of cow dung. That�s like saying, when you stop looking for the perfect job is when it will just happen to land in your lap. There�s nothing wrong with, and actually something to be proud of in, taking your life by the reigns and directing it where you want it to go. Personally, I think it takes guts to take charge of your love life. And it�s much easier to weed out incompatibilities on an internet dating site than by looking at some chick's camel toe from across a smoky bar. Ok that didn�t make much sense, but I had to say camel toe, it�s just too funny.

I tell everyone I know that I meet guys on the internet. I don�t see what the big deal is. It�s just another way of meeting people. And it cuts out the whole "how do you approach them?" aspect of trying to meet someone in real life. But I can�t tell you how many guys I�ve met online who ask me, jokingly, to keep it a secret of how we met. I try to tell them that there�s nothing wrong with it, but there�s still this stigma of desperation that follows the internet dating scene. Like I said, I don�t think seeking out love or friendship is desperate, but that�s just one opinion in a sea of stinky asses, or opinions, as it were.

But I will admit one thing: there are a lot of dysfunctional, anti-social, outright freaks and losers online! HOWEVER, I always have to counter that with saying that I�ve met no more freaks and geeks online than I ever have in real life. There are good people and bad people, happy people and sad people, people who have their crap together and people who wouldn�t know responsibility if it bitch slapped them across their ugly face. And you are no more likely to find one or another online at Yahoo or in line at the grocery store.

So for what it�s worth, I think internet dating is ok. Just be safe, meet in a public place, have fun and don�t ever, ever meet someone in person until they�ve sent you a picture, or five.



Because I like to talk dirty to ya!

Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2004 at 4:47 pm

Ok, so how do you like my new springy layout? Like I care what you think. I love it and that's all that matters. And if you are sick of me changing my layout all the time, then you can bite me. Right on my big fat butt. Oh wait, you'd like that too much. Actually, so would I. Tee hee!

Also, don't you just hate it when you sneeze and it's a big one and it's a loud one and you cover your mouth, but then when you pull your hand back, you see a tablespoon of flem and snot all over your fingers and the palm of your hand? Whoa, talk about a run-on sentence! But seriously, that's so disgusting.



"If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world." C.S. Lewis